We use cookies to ensure we give you the best browsing experience on our website.
Find out more on how we use cookies and how you can change your settings.


Eurogroup Working Group

The Eurogroup Working Group (EWG) provides assistance to the Eurogroup and its President in preparing ministers' discussions.

It brings together representatives of the euro area countries, the European Commission and the European Central Bank. 

The EWG is providing assistance to both the Eurogroup and its President in preparing ministers' discussions. 

The group usually meets once a month ahead of Eurogroup meetings.


The Working Group President 

The Eurogroup Working Group members elect a President for a period of 2 years, which may be extended. 

The office of the President of the Working Group is at the General Secretariat of the Council of the EU in Brussels. 

Since January 2012, the post of President of the Eurogroup Working Group has been held by Thomas Wieser, who is also President of the Economic and Financial Committee.




Last updated: 16/07/2014

Legal Notice | Cookies | Copyright | Contacts